photo nsb_zps7137852a.png


"Down From The Rafters (The Field Remix)" - Hundred Waters

Just as with “Thistle” and “Boreal” off their self-titled LP, Hundred Waters are releasing a remix EP for a single off the follow-up, The Moon Rang Like A Bell. The lead single, “Down From the Rafters,” gets the treatment this time.

This EP has half the tracks of its six-song predecessors, but it enlists even bigger names than the AraabMuzik and Star Slinger-boasting Thistle EP. The three artists mixing vastly new versions of one of our favorite singles of the year are Huxley, The Field (whose serenely low-key take can be heard above), and Tim Hecker (whose version I’m nigh drooling at the thought of).

The EP will be released digitally on OWSLA on October 16. The band will be touring North America in November in support of Interpol; see those dates below. (via Pitchfork)

- Tyler Hanan

Read More

"No. No… (Tim Hecker Mix)” - The Field

The Field released Cupid’s Head Remixe II on Kompakt on February 24. You can buy it here. It features three remixes of “No. No…” by John Tejada, Tim Hecker, and Tm404. Above is Tim Hecker’s take. Press play. All else fades away.

- Tyler Hanan

"Synchrosynct" - Disasterpeace

Earlier this week Microsoft revealed their latest plan to occupy your surplus cash and time with the Xbox One, the next “all-in-one entertainment system.” There was nothing musical about the premiere, but it did remind me of Fez, the indie puzzle-platformer that debuted on the Xbox 360 and captured my heart with the shimmering melodies provided by Disasterpeace. Rich Vreeland, the face behind Disasterpeace, recently commemorated the anniversary of Fez’s release with a pair of remix albums, FZ: Side F and FZ: Side Z. The albums feature notable video game composers C418 (Minecraft) and Jim Guthrie (the documentary Indie Game: The Movie; Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP). 

The first track is “Synchorsynct,” a remix of the track “Sync” from Vreeland himself. The remix takes the original’s rolling groove and amplifies the bass by a few pixels and then some. Fez's soundtrack is fertile ground for excellent remixes, and Disasterpeace has clearly had an entertaining time warping the idyllic synths of the original and inviting others to do the same.  

- Kyle Minton

"Living With You" (Laurel Halo remix) - John Cale

"… which is nearly seven minutes long, is somehow both placid and disconcertingly busy, as berserk electronic pings jump all over a spare and mournful piano figure."

That’s how Stereogum’s described NSB-favorite Laurel Halo’s remix of John Cale’s 2012 track “Living With You.” It also functions as a descriptor of many of my favorite artists, for I am nothing if not predictable. If I wasn’t already in love with the work of Laurel Halo, that description would have me on this track in a way that could fairly be equated with the internet’s reaction to a new My Bloody Valentine record.

It is a nice piece to lose oneself in, though - a nice little world of deep sea bass and electronic shenanigans, abstractly expanding into pretty piano territory and other droning goodness.

- Tyler Hanan

"Held (Tim Hecker Remix)" - Holy Other

You can’t possibly turn away from a pairing such as this. Tim Hecker injects a wealth of molasses into the already deliberately paced title track off of Holy Other’s Held, and suddenly the ghastly wails are sinking in the slow pulse of Hecker’s brand of aural quicksand. It’s a quick bite of Hecker’s all-consuming methodology that’s sure to come through with more abrasive static and waves of feedback with Instrumental Tourist, his upcoming collaboration with Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never) which drops on November 20 (link). 

- Kyle Minton

"Work Live & Sleep In Collapsing Space (Laurel Halo Remix)" - Kuedo

Originating from the same session that bore last year’s Severant (link), Kuedo’s “Work Live & Sleep In Collapsing Space” is dub tangled in its own wires, spiraling down the percussion that peppers the track’s nervous system—add the garbled synth and desolate sounds that ooze out near the end of the track and Kuedo’s new piece sound downright menacing. Laurel Halo’s version of the mix is a lighter topic, splicing string arrangements with the dub undertones to transport the bass behemoth to a far more sanguine plane. The result is a far more humane, broken composition, interrupted by static and the same sad string loop that morphs Kuedo’s hostile steel Goliath into a cyborg with a semblance of emotion. Sounds familiar (link), does it not?  You can grab Kuedo’s track along with Laurel Halo and Claude Speeed’s remixes over at Planet Mu Records (link). 

- Kyle Minton

"Birds of Paradise" (Amtrac Remix) - Chromatics 

Amtrac’s treatment of Chromatic’s stunning “Birds of Paradise” off of Kill For Love is a bit exhausting when compared to its four and a half minute original. While the Kill For Love edition could arguably be called romantic, Amtrac effaces any premise of the original’s smooth delivery with a crunchy beat that permeates the track and spliced vocals. If you’ve fallen in love with the original song as much as I have during my journeys through Kill For Love, then Amtrac’s spin is a bewildering storm of odd choices that makes for a strangely compelling listen. 

- Kyle Minton 

"Don’t Wait" (Sina remix) - Kilimanjaro

The original version of this song [link] is one of the most beautiful tracks I’ve been bumping lately - it is simply superb, and not only because it’s laden with the sort of water samples that I adore. The bar for any remix has been set incredibly high, basically. Sina takes the track, calms it down a bit, makes it a bit more thoughtful, and seamlessly integrates an intensely emotive vocal track that ideally fits the atmosphere he’s melded. He does all this without perverting the core of what made the original so lovely. The work here is incredible, and both versions will be in heavy rotation for me. 

The track is the first off the Bajkal EP, which is yielding search results for me dating back to early 2011 - it will be coming out on Dark Clover Records at some point of time, it seems. Also, one of the few good side effects to being late on this is that I can tell you about the new Kilimanjaro track “Lucky U Stayed,” which which will be featured on the free compilation Polaron Sections #1. Go now, and grace your ears with these lovely beats. [link]

- Tyler Hanan

"Still I Hear the Word Progress" ft. Styles P (Balam Acab remix) - Lushlife

Two artists I’ve shown much love for have come together, and I, predictable as ever, bring my thinly-veiled excitement here. I’ve been known to love just about everything Balam Acab has done, and Lushlife’s Plateau Vision is one of my more highly-anticipated April releases (it can’t be number one with a Spencer Krug project on the near horizon) - a full stream actually just got put up on Complex today [link]. Anyways, the remix very much has Alex Koone’s singular sound put to it, which is just what one would want. Head over to Pitchfork to download it now. [link

- Tyler Hanan

"Swervin" (Remix Instrumental) - Clams Casino

When an artist the caliber of Clams Casino drops a download link on twitter, it’s hard not to freak out a bit (I don’t even try to prevent it anymore) - and when it’s Clams Casino dropping an instrumental version of his remix of XV’s “Swervin?” I’m swooning, and that’s before I even hit play. Then, once it starts, I - well, we - are swept into yet another of the cool, beautiful realms he creates. It’s difficult to explain this level of breath-taking. [link]

- Tyler Hanan