photo nsb_zps7137852a.png


Nothing Sounds 13: This Halloween, the Batcat Cometh


My favorite holiday is almost gone, but I’ll refuse to let it go for another few days still. Music is just as big a Halloween event for me as decorations and haunted houses; plus, I actually have the time and funds to indulge it. Epic post rock (Godspeed You!, Mogwai), drawn-out, creepy electronic and drone (Oneohtrix Point Never and Tim Hecker) and the queerer realms of ambient pop (Julia Holter, whose Halloween-ready Tragedy is sadly not on Spotify) - these are the things that pique my interest even more than normal this time of year. So enjoy your Halloween, folks. I wasn’t able to embrace it as much as I would’ve liked, but we’ll take what we can. Pick out some of your favorite soundtracks and blast those through the house, double-check your beds and closets, and for the love of John Carpenter, do not go outside to investigate that sound. I’ll be watching Trick ‘r Treat and Halloween if you need me. [link]


  1. Oneohtrix Point Never - “Andro”
  2. Crystal Castles - “Year of Silence”
  3. Soft Moon - “Into the Depths”
  4. Mogwai - “Batcat”
  5. Young Widows - “Miss Tambourine Wrist”
  6. Tim Hecker - “Borderlands”
  7. Zomby - “Haunted”
  8. Julia Holter - “Goddess Eyes I”
  9. Zola Jesus - “Avalanche”
  10. Explosions in the Sky - “Greet Death”
  11. Mount Eerie - “House Shape”
  12. Godspeed You! Black Emperor - “East Hastings

"Plague" - Crystal Castles

Before listening to “Plague,” turn up your volume. More. Mooore. Good. Now you might be able to hear Alice Glass. The way her voice echoes up from deep in the dense, chilly fog is an effect that grows on the listener - aided by the ever-present electric darkness and insistent eerie beats - but I’m still unsure I can be convinced it wouldn’t have been a good move for her to be the tiniest bit higher in the mix, at least toward the end. Tremendous excitement remains for the new album, though, which is apparently slated for later this summer. [link]

- Tyler Hanan

Other News of Note

New Audio

With 537 comments on the Soundcloud and countless mentions all over the web, it’s doubtful you haven’t heard the collaboration from  Diploand Usher. Go ahead and give it another listen, though. [link]

Mouse on Mars' Parastrophics comes out on February 28th, but you can hear it on XLR8R now [link]. At the very least, take a listen to “Polaroyced.” [link]

Tidbits about Split Cranium: their self-titled LP is out March 20th on Hydra Head (consistently delivering the goods), and they’re headed by Aaron Turner (ISIS, Mamiffer) and Jessie Lehtisalo (Circle, Pharaoh Overlord). That should be enough to get you to check out the Pitchfork-debuted track “Tiny Me.” [link]

Music Videos

Capsule "Gown of Frost" [link]

Ceremony's continued evolution takes some getting used to - but the only way to go through it is to get to it. Listen and download the latest single, “Adult,” on Stereogum. [link]

Crystal Castles video [link]

fun. "Some Nights (Intro)" video [link]

Rise and Fall "Hidden Hands" [link]

Screaming Females "It All Means Nothing" [link]

The Shins "Simple Song" video [link]

Unknown Mortal Orchestra "Strangers Are Strange" video [link]

Album Announcements

Somehow, I missed that James Blackshaw released an EP last year! The shame of it! I’m on - or less off - my game this year, though - I am ready for Love is the Plan, the Plan is Death. [link]

Joan of Arc Joan of Arc Presents.. a lot of instrumental music this year - 3 LPs! The first is Joan of Arc Presents… Joan of Arc, an 80-minute soundtrack for French silent film The Passion of Joan of Arc. Joyful Noise has once again turned to the burgeoning subscription trend, setting up one specifically for JOA LPs in 2012. [link]

Metric Synthetica [link]

News of one new Mount Eerie album sends my heart a-flutter; news of two new records from Phil Elverum leaves my heart in need of a defibrillator. [link]

Other news

Death is always a tragedy, but it’s all the more tragic when one so young is lost. Rest in peace, Christopher Reimer. [link]

- Tyler Hanan

Nothing Sounds 4

The biggest problem I usually have with these mixes is a sudden desire for a songs of a vastly different tone halfway through making the mix. This one started with YACHT’s “Utopia” and a plan for an upbeat, mostly electronic playlist. As you can see, that direction quickly changed. There really is no specific genre now. There a few things I’m currently listening to, a few thing songs that fit in with them, and a few tracks that just struck my fancy.

David Lynch’s “Good Day Today” is one of the songs that snuck on as a result of how much I’ve been listening to it lately. Lynch’s Crazy Clown Time is exactly what one could logically expect it to be: extremely weird, varying quality, and a release that some will laud as art while others will condemn as pretentious trash that actually falls about halfway between the two extremes. I couldn’t give you a number score, but the best descriptive words would be “interesting” and “okay.”

I rediscovered the new Cave In album this week, too. I’d forgotten how much I liked it. Experimental metal without the technical masturbation of a BTBAM - I can get down with that. The Sleigh Bells album announcement has had me bumping Treats this week, and the stream of undun has kept The Roots on the mind. This is basically a playlist born of the music swirling around my head this week - I’m just not sure it’s weird enough to be accurate. Anyway, I enjoy all of these. Maybe you will. It’s okay if you don’t. [link]


  1. These Arms Are Snakes - Horse Girl
  2. Crystal Castles - Doe Deer
  3. Cave In - Summit Fever
  4. Sleigh Bells - Rill Rill
  5. tUnE-yArDs - Bizness
  6. David Lynch - Good Day Today
  7. The Roots - Dear God 2.0 ft. Monsters of Folk
  8. Modeselektor - The White Flash ft. Thom Yorke
  9. Wye Oak - Dog Eyes
  10. True Widow - Skull Eyes
  11. YACHT - Shangri-La

- Tyler Hanan

Not In Love" - Crystal Castles (ft. Robert Smith)

This is an alternate take on Crystal Castles’ cover of “Not In Love,” originally by the band Platinum Blonde. The vocals feature Robert Smith of The Cure and they mesh incredibly well with the catchy, danceable electronics and beats. The song will be released officially on iTunes December 6th along with the acoustic b-side demos of “Celestica” and “Suffocation.”

- Andrea Huang